When Movies Say It Best: “Swimming With Sharks”

Another week, another movie. This movie has a special place in my heart because the person who recommended it to me is no longer with us. This guy was quite a character to say the least, but I will get into that more below. This movie is a dark comedy and you really have to find humor in the dry, awfulness of life to truly enjoy this movie. There are so many great quotes it is hard to choose just one.

This is the only way that you can hope to survive. Because life… is not a movie. Everyone lies. Good guys lose. And love… does not conquer all.

Possible spoilers below too. If you haven’t seen it go watch and also don’t stay on the menu screen too long, it has some of the best one liners there and you need to hear them in the context of the movie.

The guy who recommended this movie to me was named Robert and he worked at the gym I interned at during the summer of my freshman year. He was eccentric, I guess you could say, and he was crazy. Let’s just say in his younger years he was a drummer in a band. He gave me confidence and he had stories from his younger days. He was a weird kind of guy, which kind of makes this recommendation all the more normal (if you have seen the movie hopefully that makes sense).

I moved on with my life and went to college and lost touch with the gang from the gym and Robert. I ended up becoming friends with a guy that used to work there years later and he told me that a few years back that Robert killed himself. It was so heartbreaking. This was a guy so full of life and with the recent events and then thinking of a some movie quotes, this thought just sort of hit me.

So this is a bit different from my normal posts about movies and honestly quite a bit sadder. This movie though is unique, kind of like this guy. It tells the story of an assistant to a studio executive and what that life is like. I can imagine that quite a bit of what goes on in the cut scenes is really true. I used to work for doctors so I can imagine some of the requests that a studio executive might make and can 100% believe that a lot of stuff in there is true.

This is a dark comedy and when I say dark, I really mean it. I personally find it hilarious, but did come to discover that there are people that really can’t see the humor in this movie, but of all the wonderful lines, how can you not laugh out loud?! I honestly just don’t understand. One of my favorite lines is:

And now try to follow me, because I’m gonna be moving in a kind of circular motion, so if you pay attention, there will be a point!

I can’t really say why I love it, but it just caught me by surprise the first time I heard it and just find it hilarious. I think we can all relate to the idea of a hard nosed boss, so that is what really speaks to us about this movie. I know that there are some really bad bosses out there and you can really see yourself doing something like this. The paper cut scene though, it still gets me.

Hope y’all enjoy! Remember “Shut up, listen and learn” (another quote from the movie) and something that Robert said when he first told me that I had to see this movie and he was right. Be sure to come back each week as I remember some of my favorite movies and some of the best quotes!

As always share your favorites with me by commenting below or find me Twitter!

Leave a Reply

