I’ve Got Something to Say About This…Suicide

It is both heartbreaking and tragic when someone chooses to take their own life. It just leaves you wondering why and could something have been done. The news of Chris Cornell’s death sent shock waves. He was laid to rest this past Friday in LA. You never know what is going on until it is too late.

Hindsight is 20/20 they say. His wife has come out claiming the suicide was due to medication. I am sure like with all suicides it cannot be summed up so nicely. There isn’t one cause there are many. It is sad and often times we look to blame but really there isn’t any.

People choose suicide for all kinds of reasons and none of them are good. The ones that are left behind are just left to wonder and speculate. Too many celebrities recently have chosen this path, but most recently, an eight-year-old child did too. How can someone so young choose that?

We have to look to society and how social media and times have changed. I don’t want to blame social media, I think that is too easy, but I think it is a factor. I think more the lack of real connection is the problem above all else. We see a status and we scroll past it rather than seeing the warnings in it. We aren’t as close anymore and do we miss what could have been caught.

Suicide is always a tragedy. I will always believe that and I don’t know what drives someone to that point. How do you get so lonely and sad? I wish there was a simple solution. Really it boils down to caring. Notice the people around you. Talk to them. Connect. Find a way to have meaningful interactions. Maybe then we can start to bring down these numbers. Maybe we can stop another loss, if we just cared a little more.

Thanks as always for reading. If you need a hand, I’m always willing to listen. Find a friend. Call the suicide hotline. Don’t give up.

Be sure to come back next week for another post and check back Friday for another “When Movies Say It Best”.

2 thoughts on “I’ve Got Something to Say About This…Suicide

  1. Great piece. Love the reading. The facts of Chris’ suicide are too many, and yet one simple thing might be the answer. Who knows? The guy is silenced now. I think the guy was broken and looking for a way to “fix” himself. I think brokenness stays with you forever, no matter how much you try to make it okay or “pretty” it up. I can say as my own personal experience that some demons are almost impossible to defeat and all you can do is listen to them and suck it up and try to make the best of their awful tormenting. Sometimes no matter how many good people tells you they love you, is that hidden awful voice that says otherwise that brings one down. Thanks for the post and the concern about others.

    • Thank you for reading and the comment. I agree about brokenness that it stays with you. You said it almost impossible. I am a firm believer that as long as you draw breath there is always hope and a way to turn things around. I think the hidden part is the problem. I think too often people keep this stuff hidden and if they had given a voice to it then they might have been able to make it through. Suicide is always a tragedy in my opinion and too often I think it can be avoided if people just took the time. Thanks again for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

