When Movies Say It Best: “The Usual Suspects”

Welcome to another week and another post. This has been a fun series to relive my favorite movies and movie quotes and moments. I used to be a bit of a “nerd” about this. I would go and print the quotes from my favorite movies on IMDB and put them in a 3 ring binder. Well, I found that binder and I’m going to be using it as I go through this series.

Anyway, the movie today is one of my favorite movies but it also has my favorite actor, Kevin Spacey. He is the best!! Come on Tony awards!!! (He will be hosting if you didn’t know.) I heard a lot about this movie and once I saw it, it blew my mind, just like the quote.

(Last Line)

After that my guess is that you will never hear from him again. The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he did not exist. And like that… he is gone.

(Possible spoilers below, if you haven’t seen this movie or The Sixth Sense please stop reading now. Watch both of these great movies then come enjoy)

This quote just sends chills down my spine. This movie still does the same. This was one of those movies that when it ends, you just think, wait what did I just see. I can say that this is a movie that people seem to love or hate, of course I love it.

The pacing of this movie is perfect. It sucks you in a subtly drops hints and clues that you don’t even realize until the end. It is a movie like The Sixth Sense if someone ruins the end for you then they ruined the whole movie. No, Kevin Spacey’s character isn’t dead the whole movie though.

This movie tackles a lot of emotions and themes. It challenges your thinking of what someone is capable of and not to underestimate them. The quote of course has religious undertones, but the devil from the quote didn’t have to be literal. The worst criminals seem to be devils and somehow do terrible things yet still seem to allude capture. Some even turn to legend or stories and their existence seems made up because someone so awful couldn’t have really existed.

This movie showcases just how talented Kevin Spacey is and it made me really fall in love with him as an actor. This is by far one of my favorite movies of his aside from K-PAX and Swimming with Sharks, both will have individual posts. I remember watching this movie and just being so engrossed. Then the ending comes and I was beside myself! What a “trick” indeed.

Thanks for reading. Hope you enjoyed. Come back next week as we go back to the movies to remember another great quote or quotes. Please share your favorites with me and the story of why they matter to you. Follow me on Twitter and my blog here! Enjoy the weekend!

Leave a Reply

