When Movies Say It Best: Gone With the Wind

This is my favorite movie, despite the length, I’ve seen this movie so many times that I can practically quote it line for line. I still remember the first time I saw this movie, it was life changing. I was like 8 years old and seeing this grand movie on screen was breathtaking. Even just writing the title here, I can see the opening credits and the title “blowing” across the screen. Everything about this movie seems big and grand. Scarlett, played by Vivian Leigh, is just the star this movie deserved. This really is her movie and though there are many, this quote seems to be something we can all relate to.

  I can’t think about that right now. If I do, I’ll go crazy. I’ll think about that tomorrow.

I think we have all had that time or moment when life just seemed like it was too much. Despite it all, sometimes all you can do is focus on the stuff you have at hand. You would lose your mind trying to keep yourself sane through all the chaos and the mess and so sometimes you just have to say enough. This is the perfect quote to describe Scarlett too, she is always avoiding and living in a fairy tale place in her mind. She thinks she can always come up with some plan or scheme to get what she wants. Often times she is right and she does, but often times at the expense of others. Scarlett is far from perfect, but strong willed and determined she definitely is.

There are many famous quotes from this movie and lines that I truly love. Each one says something different about the movie as a whole. This movie really has so much in it. Scarlett O’Hara who loves Ashley Wilkes yet his heart belongs to another. Rhett Butler of course hopelessly loves Scarlett but she is too determined and blind to see. This of course is all told through the ever changing conditions of the South during the Civil War.

This movie is really the movie that made me love movies. It seemed to have it all and above all it wasn’t a sappy, happy ending. This ending is truly heartbreaking. Rhett loves Scarlett to the end, but she is too blind to see and when she does it is just too late. Despite all she has suffered, a lot of it by her own actions, she continues to end up alone and heartbroken. She finally suffers as Rhett did the entire movie.

Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn.

This line is a bit too famous and I’m sure many now say it without even realizing where it came from. It is a sad reality. I wouldn’t say this is even one of my favorite lines from the movie but it is just so much fun to say. There is nothing more final than those words, a cold shoulder and disappearing into the night.

To me there isn’t a movie that comes close to this. There is such much to love, hate and discuss in this movie. From the moment the opening instrumental plays and the words race across the screen, you find yourself swept away in the grandness of this movie. After all these years just thinking about this movie brings a smile to my face. It is truly one of a kind and there will never be another like it.

Be sure to stop by every Friday and share my favorite movie memories and quotes. As always please share your favorites with me as well.

Leave a Reply

