Darkened Light

Come here my love and let me give you the moon,
Only for you to turn around and tell me, you want the stars,
Come here my love and let me give you a tender hug,
So you can tell me that you needed kisses this time,
Come here my love and let me whisper in your ear,
Until later when you say, you couldn’t hear.

Loving is just a losing game of cards,
You take your hand you are dealt and try,
But no one can change what comes up from the table,
Each color and suit a different emotion all together,
But mix the wrong ones and you have nothing but a losing hand.

Come here my love and let me whisk you away,
From all strife of these hateful feelings and ways,
Come here my love and put your hand in mine,
Let me build you up while you drag down,
Come here my love and let me lay beside you,
While you sleep all your cares away and I dwell on mine.

Love isn’t a mythical, magical illusion in the mind,
Where hearts are filled with cream frosting,
Let us walk together through the desert you create,
Filled with the failed relationships of the past,
We can live up to the horrible memories you have,
Because nothing will ever make all these images go away.

Come here my love and let me create a new image,
Where love falls like ho-hos and ding dongs from the sky,
Come here my love and remember what is here for you,
Love can only be given but it can’t be forced to be received,
Come here my love and let me cry with you a while,
Because no matter what is ahead, we will lose it all if you keep looking back.

Leave a Reply

