Small Steps Make the Journey

No matter how much you love someone you can’t change them. I think being a woman it is a hard fact to realize and accept. We want so badly for the people that we love to be apart of our lives in the best way, even when they aren’t. Those of us that find ourselves in situations like this love the people who are stuck. We find that we might be moving forward but those around you either aren’t or can’t keep up.

I don’t know if it’s worse to love someone who won’t/can’t change or to be the person who is stuck somewhere. No matter how much we love them or help them, unless they are willing to do and put the effort in, it really doesn’t matter. It’s both sad and upsetting, to watch someone you care about suffer and be defeated knowing that if they just tired and kept going then there is no telling how things would turn out. Most people let their past and fears of the future stop them. They think well it has never worked before so why try now. It’s a frustrating place to be, both for the person and the ones who love them.

I am not the kind to allow anything from my past to keep me from my future. I might have loved and lost and loved and been hurt, but those past pains, no matter how deep or hurtful will not dictate the love I have in my future. I think sometimes it comes down to the ability and willingness to fight. People get defeated by things in their past and so they let that seep into every aspect of their lives. They adapt this defeated attitude and spirit and I personally have never been one of those people.

I remember when I graduated with my Bachelor’s degree, the economy was bad, well still is, but no matter what I did, I couldn’t get a full time job. I looked and looked and applied, constantly, but I knew that I worked to get a life that I wanted a few set backs were not going to stop that. I took part time jobs, actually had three of them working seven days a week in order to make money like having a full time job. I also worked at Walgreens during this time and there are people that stick up their noises at jobs like this, especially with a Bachelor’s degree, but I didn’t and don’t care what people say. I am not a very proud person and I believe in doing what you need to do to get things done. I needed a job and they had one and offered it to me, so I gladly accepted regardless of wanting something more or better. I had a job and was able to keep looking.

I think at times we have these ideas in our head of how think or want to world to be and so we let those things limit us. We get so caught up in what we want that we forget to see what we have around us. People in essence are lazy and want the easiest road possible. Life doesn’t work like that and just because it doesn’t, does not give you the right to just quit or give up. If you want to give up, fine, but don’t drag others down with you. To me even this sounds a bit heartless, but I don’t mean it that way. I guess it’s just the fact of seeing the world that is out there and seeing so many people that fail or don’t care to grasp on what is out there. People need to stop worrying about what they don’t have and fear they never will and just start trying to achieve what they can. It doesn’t take giant leaps, just small steps to create a journey worth taking, more people would benefit from realizing that.

Leave a Reply

