I’ve Got Something to Say About This…Fort Hood

Another weekend has come and gone and now it is the start of another week. There have been quite a few different news stories and entertainment things that could be discussed. Yesterday, I read in the Huffington Post about the President may not be doing selfies anymore, oh my (not really sure how much I care about that one), it was a big night for Country music and the industry last night, Miley Cyrus’s dog passed (another umm not sure moment), HIMYM had an alternate ending that will be able to be found on the DVD when it is released (interested to see what that is about) and of course all the other millions of things that could be discussed here, but I am again talking about something a little bit closer to home, literally.

Washington Post Article: Fort Hood Shooting

For the second time in less than 5 years, there was another shooting at Fort Hood. It was quite an unbelieveable story, when I saw the headline on my twitter feed. At first, I was not sure if it was just a joke or some poor taste comedy tweet, but then I was very saddened to see that major news outlets were covering the story and that it was indeed real. Over the past few days, the news has continued to come out concerning the event.

Finally, I found this article that reports the whole incident could be over some paperwork. After reading the article, it frustrating to see that they want to downplay his medical history. Of course, I strongly believe that this had to have something to do with some mental issues, namely PTSD (Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder). These are the kind of stories that it is hard to not sympathize with all involved, at least I that is how I feel. I think that in this case and many others, the military failed this man. These deaths and his own could have been avoided if a little more care was taken and expressed towards and troubled solider.

Like most times, the society at large often does not understand or truly grasp what this solider has seen and gone through. Mental health issues, such as PTSD and depression, are often dismissed and people think that those who suffer can simply “get over it” or pull themselves out of it, but that is not the case. I used to work at a non-profit that assisted with getting clients into drug rehabs for alcohol abuse and when I was going onto another job, it was right before the government did a 10% cut across the board for mental health. Most people that struggle with addition have suffered in such ways as soldiers, need to have care or the assistance there, but the government and society neglects these needs.

Mental health is one of the most important things and I think this incident as well as many others that make national news could have been avoided if more attention was paid. We push off problems and neglect areas that really need attention then point to other things, like this sparks gun control. The problem isn’t the guns, it’s the people who they are giving them or allowing to have access to them. If we keep better track of who had access and where their minds were, then we wouldn’t need to worry about the gun control. We need to make sure that the people that have access to these guns are stable enough to handle them and if they are not then they need to get or have access to the help that they need.

It is horrible for the families who had to suffer a loss due to this neglect. This life is so precious and to think that incidents such as these could be avoided or minimized if a little more attention was paid to those who need help. My heart truly goes out to all that suffered a loss in this event and I wish that it would start a true discussion about what the real issue is, rather than start the same old tired debate about better gun laws or some nonsense. In the end, this is just my opinion and if you disagree, please share with me below or send me an email.

As always, I am always looking for contributors. Be sure to find me on Twitter (@BC_Author) to connect as well. If you want to be featured, comment below or send me an email or if you have a topic you would like to see covered, again just let me know. I love hearing from all who read. Be safe out there, care about those around you and as always happy blogging!

Leave a Reply

