Slow and Steady

Yesterday I actually got some good writing in. It has been a while. I have been working, writing my reviews, going out more, doing the things I need and I’ve just felt uninspired. This past weekend I went to visit family out of town. It was to celebrate my moms birthday, but I needed to get away.

I always love being around her. We have so much in common and I feel open to talk with her and just be. But it was nice to have a bit of an escape. On the way home, I started thinking that it has been a while since I’ve drawn. I used to draw when I was younger then I gave it up, then a few years ago started again. It’s a great way to express yourself and it’s calming for me. Anyway, on the way back I had a great idea that I actually just did a draft of yesterday that I’m quite proud of. I love drawing but I just wish I was better at it.

It was weird coming back though I felt more relaxed and my mind felt open. I felt inspired again. I hadn’t been writing none stop or anything but I have almost completed a new short story, I have two new drawing I want to do, I’ve written more for my novel and ebook, and I’ve been writing poems that I’m proud to put my name on. I guess I feel like I’ve gotten a second wind so to speak.

Sometimes it’s hard to stay motivated. You have a goal and you know what you want to write and in what time frame, but then it just doesn’t quite work out that way. I’m not where I want to be this year and I could get upset and frustrated, but what would that do? Nothing and I still wouldn’t be any closer. So sometimes we need to get away, clear our heads and come back refreshed.

Leave a Reply

