Back to Working on My Poetry ebook

Finally feel like I am getting somewhere, where might that be?? Am I moving? Am I progressing in my professional career (maybe)? I honestly wish this was news about my novel, but still struggling to get myself grounded on writing and committing to it. I am not entirely sure why that is, but alas it is a problem. But no I am excited because I am now taking a step back and working on my poetry ebook.

I feel excited because I have been thinking about it for a while and worked on it a bit but not really committed. Hmm sounds like a problem I might have…but anyway, I started a series of poems and said that I could turn that into a poetry ebook. Honestly it was mostly just some idea I had and I was not really sure how to transform that into an actual project. I have never put a collection together before and being a novel minded kind of person, I wanted to do something a little bit more with my poetry book.

I have poems that I have written and I enjoy. I still have to finish the remaining poems for my series too, but I now have an idea I want to work towards with it. Honestly if I can pull it off as I am thinking then it should be quite a good read. I am hoping to create a story that carries with each poem, sort of a build off of the one before it. I had a friend when I was in college that talked about writing a poetry book where it was a conversation of a relationship with a guy and girl. Each poem would be conversation and describe the relationship. I absolutely loved the idea and I honestly don’t know if she ever did it. We ended up losing touch, but I sort of morph that idea here.

The series I created were poems to the “invisible man”, a created character or idea that I have/had of love. It is about the ideal of the things that I would want in another person and so I am hoping to create a story where it goes through and the poems for the series are the answer to the poem before it. So what issues I am writing about in the first poem, will be “answered” or comforted by the poem that is included from the invisible man series.

I am excited about this project again. I am hoping that I can get this completed this year and maybe offer it for sale by the end of the year. I do have a bit of a leg up, so to speak, on this because I have already written a lot of the invisible man series. I know that since I am going to be incorporating a story element with the book, that it will probably mean some rewriting and what not, but I think this is one of my favorite projects that I have come up with. I hope that you are working on something exciting yourself and if not, just keep searching the inspiration is there.

2 thoughts on “Back to Working on My Poetry ebook

    • I appreciate you reading and replying. I think that you are right, it does help motivate us. Sometimes we just need to find something we can really throw ourselves into so that we can get ourselves back on track. 🙂 Thanks.

Leave a Reply

