Keeping It Balanced

They say that life is a balancing act, so how do you keep it all together? I have recently started to write more with other sites. I am working on stories, reviews, social media sites and then of course blogging, but then there is the real world which doesn’t even get included in all the other stuff. How in the world are we supposed to find a balance of it all? How can we be creators, friends, wives, artists, authors, bloggers and do it all in a day?! Time doesn’t stop for us to catch up and despite the desire to do it all sometimes we simply fall short and no matter how good we are, things fall through the cracks. So how can we make the most of all that we do?

Sometimes it’s hard getting yourself out of bed and productive doing the things that you must do, but then also to exert extra time into creative or personal endeavors, are we crazy!? I sometimes feel a bit crazy, like I know that I need or should be doing this or that yet I find myself either doing other things or sometimes nothing at all. Sometimes we must simply do and sometimes we just simply must take a break from it all. We can’t do it all, all the time and we have to let ourselves understand that and be ok with it. I am a writer, blogger, examiner, full time employee, friend, daughter, and all the other stuff, but I am not all that at the same time. I am who I am and I try to be all that I can be for myself and for those around me, but sometimes I fall short or fail and in those moments, I simply must be who I am. I can only do and be so much at a time and though I feel like I fail, I accept who I am.

Best laid plans are always out there and we might think or convince ourselves that we can do it all and in the end we may only be doing many things mediocre when we could be doing fewer things really well. We have to plan and decide what is it that we really want to do with ourselves and our lives. We sometimes have to back away from something we want, in order to do something we must, but just because we have to back away that doesn’t mean that we give up. We can take a break, but we also have to remember that we can come back. We don’t fail unless we stop trying.

There are people, like me, who enjoy lists and planning. I plan what I need or want to do and even if I don’t write it down, in my head I know. There are people that have a better grasp of what they are and are not capable of and I envy them but that is not me. I think that with anything, no matter what it is that you want to do or accomplish, you must have a plan. You can start out and say that you know where you are going and what you are doing, but I have no doubt that when you get on that path it will be more than you expected. I say make a plan, no matter what that plan looks like, make a plan and goal for yourself and stick to it. You can use a formal list or to do type list or put up post it notes on your mirror, alarm clock, steering wheel, that offer you reminders of what you need to do.

No matter what you need to do or where you want to be, you must be able to see it. You must have a clear goal in mind and have an idea of how you want to get there. You may get side tracked and you may fall behind but you can still keep that ultimate goal in your headlights, so to speak. So how do you keep it all in balance? How do you keep up and juggle all that you need to do so that you don’t lose yourself or the quality of your work? It’s not easy, but it certainly can be done.

Leave a Reply

