I’ve Got Something to Say About This…Globes Edition!

Another week and I have been feeling neglectful of my blogging duties. I feel like I need more hours in the day to do all that I want and need to do. With my new Examiner page, I have been focused on coming up with more entertainment centered posts and commentary. Ever since I was little, I remember gathering around the TV to watch whatever entertainment award show I could find. I have loved watching the Globes and the Oscars every year and this year was no different. So let’s see what all can be said about this years 71st annual Golden Globes.

CNN: 2014 Golden Globes

All I can say is what a night. I am completely the kind to be swept away in the excitement of it all. Despite reports before the show that a pipe burst, the show went off without a hitch. Tina Fey and Amy Poehler hosted again this year and created quite the presence. They offered great lines, the dig at George Clooney in the opening and other quick witted remarks. Both appear very comfortable on stage, except when Poehler won the award for Best Actress in a TV series, musical or comedy, even she got tongue tied.

This year, like many in recent memory, appears to have a lot of noteworthy films, but not one that sweeps them all. This year was really spread around with wins, except “American Hustle” taking home three major prizes. The rest of the major categories were won my different films: Director Alfonso Cuaron for “Gravity”, Best Actor (Drama) Matthew McConaughey, “Dallas Buyers Club”, Best Actress (Drama) Cate Blanchett, “Blue Jasmine”, and Best Picture (Drama) “12 Years a Slave”. “American Hustle” took home most of the major musical or comedy areas, so at least that was one consistent area. Most of the time they say this helps predict the Oscars (which are announced this Thursday, Jan. 16th), but what could we see from this mess? Maybe the Academy will have more centered focus for nominees and winners.

Globes include TV and it was a shock to most, me for sure, that “Brooklyn Nine-Nine” took home the best series comedy and Andy Samberg winning for best actor (comedy) for the same series. I personally can’t speak to the merits of the show as I do not watch it, but from the previews it never drew me in. It is nice that Fox has a show that is successful though, so good for them. Of course one of the most awkward moments in an acceptance speech for the night was when co-creator Dan Goor of “Brooklyn Nine-Nine” said: “I almost went to med school. This is way better than saving a human life!” (Yikes! What kind of a message is that!) “Breaking Bad”, in its finally chance to win, it took home the top TV prize of best series drama and Bryan Cranston took best actor for the series also. Netflix had quite a few nominations, though didn’t quite make it to win this year, but it is still promising for them since they have been struggling. It will be interesting to see in the coming years how online will effect cable and broadcast nominations.

Last night was quite a show, I saw that it had extremely high ratings, which is encouraging. It was filled with bleeps and laughs. Stars were there and they were having fun, which also made it easier for the audience to enjoy watching as well. Even the President, Theo Kingma, of the Hollywood Foreign Press offered a laugh when he came to give his speech saying, “Welcome to the moment you’ve all been waiting for: The President’s speech – or, as it is known for those watching at home: bathroom break.” (Sadly it is quite true that most people feel that way…) Diane Keaton accepted the Cecil B. DeMille Award on behalf of Woody Allen and all was well until she sang the Girl Scout song?! I don’t think anyone really understood that, although singing to a hushed audience was quite something. That was only a few of the moments that many had to stop and take note of last night.

I know that I have always been a huge fan of award shows and last night is exactly what someone would need to find interest in these kind of things. You need laughs, excitement and tension, to keep it interesting. If you can’t come out of it with something to talk about the next day, well then you failed at what you were doing. This year the show itself was just as much buzz as the shows which received the awards. I hope that the Oscars carry on this tradition and create a show worth talking about, both for good and bad reasons, because it doesn’t have to be perfect, but we just have to enjoy it! What were some of your favorite moments from last night? Did your favorite show or movie win? What do you think of the big winners? Let me know by commenting or pinging back below.

Leave a Reply

