Writing a Novel: Long, Hard Work

In a recent post I wrote about doing what you want and getting where you want to be. At the start of this blog, I created it in order to get my name out there and connect with other writers. I also wrote this in order to write it along with the creation of my very first novel. I have decided on a few things and realized that I have a very long road ahead.

The story that I am writing, originally was an idea I had all the way back in high school, which is almost 10 years ago for me. I started to write it and then went back and forth with it. I could not decide how I wanted to tell the story or who I want to tell the story even. I would begin to write, then scratch it, start to write it another way and then think I had a better idea, only to reconsider even that idea. I felt like I was going back and forth with the story and eventually just set it aside.

I have always liked the idea of the story. I was very excited when I first thought of the idea and still I have enjoyed writing it. It is very different for me. It is a crime, suspense drama novel. It is told from the point of view of a father who has lost everything and decides to take matters into his own hands. He is driven, determined and certainly completely the opposite of me.

It is still weird to try and write and get into character. I am not a man to begin with, let alone a parent, so writing as a father who has had a rough life and loses everything, is quite a stretch for me. I enjoy it and throw a little of myself in as well, but it is interesting to write and think as he might.

Although I am far from a draft, I have someone reading it now to see what they think. I have three complete chapters written so I am glad to at least have that done for now. I still have a long way to go but I am enjoying writing. I think that I still need a bit of planning to make sure that I reach the deadline I want by June of next year. I am hoping with the holiday vacation I can create a plan and decide what needs to be complete by when and hopefully I can post it here.

I hope that my followers will help to keep me on track. I look forward to the new year and I guess in a way this can be the start of my resolutions, which I hope to do a post about later. I know that we all make them, or at least most of us, but often we fall short of them by mid or end of the year. I am going to post mine and over the next year see how far I get and what I don’t do for all the public to see.

So what are you writing now? Have you completed your first novel? How was the experience? I would love to hear from you if you would like to leave a comment below or send me an email. I always love to hear from my readers. Until next time, keep writing and never give up on your dreams!

Leave a Reply

