Living in a TV World

There are feel good shows that we watch and think, wow the world would be better if a world such as that existed. We used to have the wholesome family series like Full House, Step by Step, Boy Meets World, 7th Heaven, to name a few, that we would all watch growing up and think if only real life could be such a way. As I started to grow up, my interest in TV shows changed and adjusted with my age and I started to watch more aged dramas like 90210, Melrose Place, Dawson’s Creek and the list could go on. Eventually, we look at TV for guilty pleasures and some excitement, but we no longer desire to live in such worlds, or at least I wouldn’t say that I would.

There are more than a handful of shows that I watch now like Scandal, Revenge, The Blacklist, Hostages, and the list again could go on, that I would not want to live in these characters world. There are times I watch these prime time drama shows and wonder what the world would be like to take a step into them filled with so much deceit, lies, manipulation, backstabbing, these people would almost all die very young with the stress they live on a daily basis. Of course such shows which include FBI or police, there are many in real that live very intense lives such as seen on the screen. I am not even sure that I would be equipped to live in a world such as that.

I love my movies, TV and books and there are those that I would like to escape into and even those exciting ones are fun to imagine being a part of, but they are just fiction. I am glad that I don’t have to wake up in the morning and scheme from the second I wake just to make sure I make it alive to the end of my day. I will gladly keep the drama on my TV screen rather than all around me in my every day. I don’t need a cheating lover, any powerful connections, a manipulative society that I fight to maintain my status in, or any of the other chaotic story lines. In the end, we all wish our lives were a little more exciting from time to time, but maybe not as jam packed as the shows we see from week to week.

If there was a show you would want to be a part of, which show would it be and why? Would you want to be in the mix of the chaos on shows such as Scandal, could you handle it? Let me know what you think about the TV worlds you watch every week and leave me a comment. I would love to hear from you.

3 thoughts on “Living in a TV World

  1. Pingback: The Pursuit: Being Creative

Leave a Reply

