Making Time for What You Love

What is it you wait for? Are you waiting for the right idea or the right moment, flash of inspiration? What keeps us from moving and acting on the things that we want? Is it fear or lack of caring? I think that in all of it, it’s a little of both. If we go after what we want then we run the risk of failing but if we never try at all then we can say at least we didn’t fail?!

I have never been one that likes to fail, though I don’t know many people that feel that way, but lately I have been feeling more and more that way. I am not scared of failing but more scared of never acting. I am more scared of always wanting to do or be something, like a published author but always being the voice that holds myself back. I can’t make myself do something that I don’t really want, but I can hold myself back and create obstacle after obstacle. What is it about us that makes us want to sit and wait rather than taking life and jumping right in?

We all have events in our lives that we think back to and use it as “proof” that we should not have done or been there, but those things are just life. We don’t have to use what was or things from our past to hold us back. We are who we are and we do what we do and we always pursue the things that we love and that bring us joy. Sometimes we aren’t the best at the things that we love, but that should never hold us back. If you truly love drawing, writing or singing, it doesn’t matter where you are or what it is you are doing, you always do what you love.

There are many people who would not consider me dedicated enough, because yes I do have a full time job and life outside of creating. I write, draw and sing whenever I can and I have been working hard putting these things into my daily activities, but no matter what I always do these things. I may not make a living off of them, at least not for the time being, but my heart needs to express itself and it does so by writing and creating. I don’t write and create to live, but I live to write and create. No matter where I am, I will find a way to make time to do what it is I love. I think that is what we should all strive to do.

2 thoughts on “Making Time for What You Love

Leave a Reply

